Del Takes a Page Out of NIN’s Book

Idelt looks like Del the Funky Homosapien didn’t need any of the money that was left in his wallet over in El Segundo…get it?nothing? Well, looks like he has gone with some “indie” album release formula ala Radiohead and NIN and has released his new album (number 14 by our count) for free download. The whole thing, not a mishmash mix-tape of previous releases, or a free stream, nope. The real deal. More after the jump.

 Here’s the press release

Less than a year after the release of his last album, Hieroglyphics member and co-founder Del  joins the ranks of Radiohead and Nine Inch Nails with the free release of his new album, Funk Man: The Stimulus Package via Funnyman Entertainment. Del is currently on a nationwide promotional tour for the album and will be playing in over 30 cities.

As an early adapter of technology and having the status and perspective only a veteran can possess, Del takes advantage of his unique position to adopt a still experimental distribution strategy with Funk Man’s release. Even with longevity, very few artists can hope to successfully launch a free full-length album. However with Del the Funky Homosapien’s solid fan base and sponsorship deals with Arnette, Skull Candy, Osiris Shoes, and, Funk Man’s release not only ensures support for the creative process, but also gives fans easy access to music they crave.

With a six year hiatus between Del’s prior two solo releases, fans and critics may be surprised by the release of Funk Man: The Stimulus Package, which is out only a year following Eleventh Hour (Def Jux/Hieroglyphics). Del attributes this timing as a reflection of his life. Having shed the negativity that plagued him in past years, he feels a sense of renewal, which has resulted in new found creativity. Additionally, after working consistently with record labels in his previous projects, Del is re-energized by his ability to produce music independently.

Being without a record label shouldn’t be cause for alarm because Del, known for his intricate, honest, and humorous word-play, funky beats and artistic versatility, continues to deliver his signature style on Funk Man: The Stimulus Package. The high-energy album is comprised of raw lyrics, driving rhythms, and Del’s undeniable funkiness. Throughout Funk Man, Del challenges the listener to be genuine, especially when he says, “it’s okay to be who you are. You can be free. So what if people are taking about you, they’re going to be talking about you anyway and they probably want to be you. They wish they could by funky, let their hair grow out, be like you.” Del shows his commitment to this message and the funk in each track, from “Get It Right Now’s” sense of urgency, to “And They Thought That Was Hell’s” pop culture warning, and “Straight From the Big Bad West Coast’s” historical breakdown.

Funk Man: The Stimulus Package marks Del the Funky Homosapien’s 14th project as he has been in this hip-hop game for almost two decades. Starting at the tender age of 17 as protégé to his cousin, Ice Cube, Del quickly rose to the top of the underground hip hop scene with his albums, I Wish My Brother George Was Here (1991) and No Need for Alarm (1993), both released through Elektra Records. Soon after parting ways with the label, Del joined the Hieroglyphics family, comprised of notable emcees Pep Love, the Souls of Mischief, Casual, and Domino. In 1998 the critically acclaimed album 3rd Eye Vision was the first to be released under the Hieroglyphics Imperium label and since then Del has had consistent success with his solo and joint efforts, including Deltron 3030 (2000), Gorillaz (2001), Full Circle (2003), and Eleventh Hour (2008) to name a few.

As a witness to the destructive technology, i.e. video games, that replaced the comic book industry thirty years ago and seeing the same trends within the music industry today, Del has taken a proactive approach with Funk Man, in his reluctance to rely on standard distribution models. Funk Man: The Stimulus Package is Del’s journey back to basics and the timely message coupled with the LP’s free release display’s his acute awareness of his fan’s needs and the music industry at large.

So going against the grain of his Hip-Hop brethren, as he has always done, he releases an album in full, without a “leak” and a quality that is far above most Hip-Hop acts!

God we love Del here at impossible city! Good ‘ol good-time hip-hop; like it used to be before all the bling and bitches! Sunday BBQ recommended.

file here

Track Listing:

01.) Get It Right Now
02.) And They Thought That Was Hell
03.) Fit Like a Glove
04.) Go Against the Grain
05.) Hardcore Punks Can’t Take It
06.) I’m Smellin Myself
07.) King of Fighters
08.) News Alert
09.) Simple Satisfaction
10.) Sometimes I Gotta Get Stupid
11.) Straight From the Big Bad West Coast
12.) Land of the Funk
13.) Young Adrenaline

One Response

  1. Hi there!

    Audible Treats does marketing & publicity for the Del The Funky Homosapien. Thanks for recently posting about Del The Funky Homosapien on the daily blog portion of your site. I’d like to know who I can send press releases, videos, and mp3s to for artists that would be a good fit for your site. Can you also tell me some more information on your website and the type of content you cover?

    Below are some past press releases we have done for Del The Funky Homosapien. There will be more to come. Feel free to check them out and post to your site!

    Also, check out our current roster here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: