Death Cab for Cutie is Having Leftovers

425Fresh off the release of an animated video for “Grapvine Fires” off of last year’s Narrow Stairs Death Cab For Cutie have announced the release of a “leftovers” EP called The Open Door, featuring never-before heard songs from the sessions that brought you last year’s Narrow Stairs


 “There were four extra songs [from the Narrow Stairs sessions],” bassist Nick Harmer told “Because we were trying to put together an album, we ended up not including them — it’s not like they’re castoffs or anything; they’re part of the Narrow Stairs experience,” he added. “They needed to have a proper home, and the EP is it.” In addition to the four new tracks, Harmer said this EP will feature what is supposed to be the original version of “Talking Bird,” off of Narrow Stairs. Where Ben Gibbard sings and plays the ukulele. Hopefully it makes, what we here at Impossible City, the song a little better than the version they went with on the album. We thought it was the weakest of the songs. The EP is due for release this year.

The album news follows the recent release of Death Cab’s music video for “Grapvine Fires” — an affecting animated production that follows a boy on a bike as he copes with one of California’s many natural disasters. Watch below. “I’m a huge comic book fan, so there was that,” Harmer explained of the video’s creation. “Plus, in my head, I couldn’t see any kind of live-action video that wouldn’t come off as heavy-handed or overwrought. So we knew what we didn’t want it to be. Plus, we knew we should do a cameo, which meant we’d get to be animated, so that was a bonus.” Harmer, who handles visual art for the band, then tapped animation team Walter Robot, who, Harmer said, took the project and disappeared before finally contacting him earlier this year. Walter Robert Studios has alos produced videos for Modest Mouse, Gnarls Barkley, and Milosh. “I had no idea how it was going to turn out,” Harmer said. “I either thought they were going to nail it, or the whole thing was going to be a complete disaster. Needless to say, they totally nailed it.” See for yourself below.

Here‘s something Current TV put out last year for the release of Narrow Stairs.

And if that is not enough…

Here’s a Live set from San Diego, Ca  Street Scene – Best Buy Stage July 30th, 2005

01 – Title Track
02 – We Laugh Indoors
03 – The New Year
04 – Title and Registration
05 – Lightness
06 – Soul Meets Body
07 – For What Reason
08 – A Movie Script Ending
09 – Crooked Teeth
10 – Photobooth
11 – Blacking Out the Friction/All Is Full of Love
12 – Proving My Hypothesis

Your file here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: